ANU Law scholars shortlisted in 2020 Australian Legal Research Awards

The Australian National University (ANU) has demonstrated its excellence in legal research, with five scholars shortlisted in the 2020 Australian Legal Research Awards (ALRAs). Supported by the Council of Australian Law Deans, the annual awards celebrate excellence and innovation in the discipline of Law by Australian legal scholars.

ANU Law scholars have each been shortlisted in the following award categories:

Lifetime Achievement Legal Research Medal

Emeritus Professor Stephen Bottomley FAAL

Best PhD

Dr Brad Jessup for his thesis entitled ‘A New Justice for Australian Environmental Law’.

Best Article or Book Chapter (Early Career Researcher)

Dr Ntina Tzouvala for the chapter entitled '”And the Laws are Rude … Crude and Uncertain”: Extraterritoriality and the Emergence of Territorialised Statehood in Siam’.

Best Book

Professor Desmond Manderson FAAL, FASSA, FRSC for his book ‘Danse Macabre: Temporalities of Law in the Visual Arts’.:

Best Article or Book Chapter (General)

Professor Pauline Ridge for her article entitled ‘Challenging Conceptions of Accessory Liability in Private Law’.

Update: We are thrilled to announce that three of our shortlisted scholars were successful in their fields: Emeritus Professor Stephen Bottomley FAAL, Dr Brad Jessup, and Professor Desmond Manderson FAAL, FASSA, FRSC.

The awards ceremony will be held via Zoom on Tuesday 17 November, 6-7.40pm. Register here to attend this free event.

Other stories you might like