ANU Law alumni recognised in 2021 Australia Day honours

Australia Day Honours
Three ANU Law alumni have been honoured for their outstanding achievements.

The Australian National University (ANU) College of Law congratulates all members of our community who have been acknowledged in the 2021 Australia Day Honours List.

Three ANU Law alumni have been recognised in the 2021 Australia Day Honours List for their outstanding achievements across a broad range of fields, and for their invaluable contribution to our society. We are proud to extend our warmest congratulations to all of our alumni who were recognised this year.

Sally Bryant (BEc ’86, LLB ’88) PSM

Ms Bryant was awarded a Public Service Medal (PSM) for her outstanding public service to Legal Aid New South Wales, particularly during the 2019-2020 bushfires. Ms Bryant joined the New South Wales public service in 1996. Since that time she has served in the Civil Law Division of Legal Aid NSW where she is a Senior Solicitor, managing five civil law teams along the NSW East Coast. 

Stephen Byron (BComm ’92, LLB (Hons) ’93, GDLP ’94) AM

Mr Byron was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for his significant service to the aviation infrastructure sector, and to tourism. Mr Byron is the Managing Director of Canberra Airport and serves on the board of a number of institutions including the Australian National University Endowment for Excellence, where he has been a Board Member since 2014.

Sam Mostyn (BA ’86, LLB ’89, HonLLD ‘18) AO

Ms Mostyn was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for her distinguished service to business and sustainability, and to the community, through seminal contributions to a range of organisations, and to women. Ms Mostyn is a leading business figure and is currently a Non-executive Director of the Sydney Swans, Virgin Australia, Mirvac, CoverMore and Transurban. She is the President of the Australian Council for International Development, the Chair of Carriageworks and Citi Australia, and the Deputy Chair of the Diversity Council of Australia.  In addition, she is on the Board of The Climate Council, ClimateWorks Australia and the GO Foundation.

See the full list of ANU Alumni recipients here.

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team