ANU Law alumni recognised in 2022 Australia Day honours
Australia Day Honours

The Australian National University (ANU) College of Law congratulates all members of our community who have been acknowledged in the 2022 Australia Day Honours List.

Six ANU Law alumni have been recognised in the 2022 Australia Day Honours List for their outstanding achievements across a broad range of fields, and for their invaluable contribution to our society. We are proud to extend our warmest congratulations to all of our alumni who were recognised this year.

Allan Anforth (GradDipPubLaw ’86) AM

Mr Anforth was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to the law, to social welfare, and to education. Mr Anforth a part-time Senior Member of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Civil and Administrative Tribunal, since 2009.

Michelle Baxter (BA ’86, LLB ’88) PSM

Ms Baxter was awarded a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service to the health and safety of Australian workplaces and the community, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic. Ms Baxter is currently serving as the Chief Executive Officer of Safe Work Australia. She has made a sustained contribution to Australian workplace health and safety through her leadership of Safe Work Australia, in particular during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Justine Curnow (BA (Hons) ’05, JD ’16) PSM

Ms Curnow was awarded a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service in leading the assistance package to sustain and revive the arts and entertainment sectors through the COVID-19 pandemic. Ms Curnow is the former Assistant Secretary of the Arts COVID Response Taskforce at the Office for the Arts. Her work contribution, work ethic and character led to her appointment as leader of the Arts COVID Response Taskforce. In the role, she led a team that was able to secure additional funding for the arts and entertainment sectors. The initiatives she developed were all the first of their kind in the arts portfolio and have been crucial in sustaining and reviving the arts and entertainment sector during 2020 and 2021.

Peter McGrath (LLB ’94, GDLP ’95) AM

Mr McGrath was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to rugby union as an administrator, and to tertiary education. Mr McGrath served as the Chair of Australian Rugby Union (now Rugby Australia) from 2007 to 2012.

Mary Toohey (GradDipPubLaw ’00) PSM

Ms Toohey was awarded a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service to law reform in the Australian Capital Territory and supporting the response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Ms Toohey is recognised for her outstanding leadership and service to the Australian Capital Territory Public Service, in particular her contribution to legislative drafting, improving the accessibility of laws in the Australian Capital Territory, and in supporting the Australian Capital Territory Government's response to the COVID-19 public health emergency.

Graham Tuckwell (BEc (Hons) '79, LLB (Hons) '82, HonDUniv '15) PSM

Mr Tuckwell was appointed as Officer of the Order of Australia For distinguished service to the community through philanthropic support of education scholarships, and to business. Mr Tuckwell, along with his wife Louise, helped establish the Tuckwell Scholarship program in 2013 with a $50 million donation to ANU—at the time, the largest donation in Australian tertiary education history.

See the full list of ANU Alumni recipients here.

Other stories you might like