ANU Law scholar, alumni recognised in Queen’s Birthday honours

Queen's Birthday Honours List 2019

Two alumni and an honorary professor from The Australian National University (ANU) College of Law have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List.

Professor Marcia Langton FASSA (BA (Hons) ’84, Hon LittD '19) was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for advocacy for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as well as her contributions to tertiary education.

She graduated with an honours degree from ANU in 1984 and an Honorary Doctorate of Law in 2019. She is the foundation chair of Australian Indigenous studies at the University of Melbourne, and also worked on the 1989 Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody.

In 2019, Professor Langton was appointed co-chair of a senior advisory group convened by Indigenous Affairs Minister Ken Wyatt designed to exmaine giving Indigenous Australians a voice at all levels of government.

Leo Hardiman (BComm '89, LLB (Hons) '91) was awarded the Public Service Medal (PSM) for outstanding public service through the provision of legal services to the Commonwealth.

Mr Hardiman is Deputy Chief General Counsel at the Australian Government Solicitor's Office of General Counsel.

Honorary Professor Bill Campbell PSM, QC was also appointed AO for distinguished service to public administration, and to international legal practice, through senior counsel and advisory roles. He was General Counsel (International Law) and head of the Office of International Law in the Attorney-General’s Department from 1996-2018. Professor Campbell advised successive Australian Governments on all areas of international law and its implementation in Australia.

He was also responsible for the conduct of, and appeared in, cases involving Australia before international courts and Tribunals including the International Court of Justice and the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea.

Read more about ANU staff and alumni recognised in the Queen's Birthday 2020 Honours List here.

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team