ANU Law professor and alumni named best lawyers in their fields

Corporate scene

Emeritus Professor Dennis Pearce AO FAAL and several ANU College of Law Alumni have been recognised as the country’s top lawyers in the 10th annual Best Lawyers – Lawyer of the Year 2018 list.

This is the fourth year that Professor Pearce has been included in the peer-measured list which identifies one lawyer per practice area in each state and territory. This year he was named the Regulatory Practice Lawyer of the Year for Canberra while in previous years he received the Canberra Lawyer of the Year award for Public Law.

Professor Pearce said the award was flattering, particularly given it was awarded by his peers.

“The great thing is it’s a group of significant lawyers voting,” he said.

The following ANU Law Alumni were also named Lawyers of the Year in their practice area.

Class Action Litigation

Ben Slade – BEc ’81, LLB ’84 (Managing Principal, Maurice Blackburn – Sydney)

Commercial Law

George Marques – BA ’85, LLB ’85 (Partner, HWL Ebsworth - – Canberra)

Corporate/Governance Practice

Andrew Knox – BEc ’79, LLB ’81 (Partner, Allens – Brisbane)

Michael Brennan – LLB (Hons) ’94, GDLP ‘95 (Managing Partner, MinterEllison – Canberra)

Government Practice

Paul Vane-Tempest – LLB ’89 (Managing Partner, Ashurst – Canberra)

Defamation and Media Law

Leanne Norman – BA ’81, LLB (Hons) ’83 (Partner, Banki Haddock Fiora – Sydney)

Information Technology Law

Caroline Atkins – BA ’81, LLB ‘83 (Managing Partner, DLA Piper – Canberra)

Insurance Law

Catherine Power - BA ’01, LLB ’01, LLMLegPrac ’06 (Partner, Sparke Helmore – Canberra)

Labour and Employment Law

Michael Will – LLB (Hons) ’92 (Partner, HWL Ebsworth – Canberra)

Leasing Law

Alfonso del Rio BSc ’85, LLB ’85 (Partner, Clayton Utz – Canberra)

Public Law

Dr Gary Rumble – BA ’73, LLB (Hons) ’75, PhD ’84 (Consulting Principal – Keypoint Law, Sydney) 

Neil Williams SC – MPubLaw ‘90 (Barrister, Sixth Floor Selborne Wentworth Chambers – Sydney)

Real Property Law

Adam Peppinck – BA ’01, LLB ’01 (Partner, Mills Oakley – Canberra)

Trade Law

Andrew Percival – BA ’81, LLB ‘87 (Principal Solicitor, Percival Legal – Sydney)

Telecommunications Law

Rachael Lewis – BA ’96, LLB (Hons) ’96, GDLP ‘96 (Partner, King & Wood Mallesons – Canberra)

Luke Waterson – LLM ’97 (Barrister, 12 Wentworth Selborne Chambers – Sydney).

Each year Australia’s Best Lawyers list comprises more than 3000 names who have been selected through an evaluation process conducted by peers within each practice area.

The full list is available at Best Lawyer’s website or via an annual interactive from the Australian Financial Review.

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team