ANU Alumni Awards: nominations open for outstanding law students and graduates

Alumni awards

ANU College of Law has begun the search for its most outstanding students and graduates, with nominations now open for the 2017 ANU Alumni Awards.

The Alumni Awards recognise alumni and students who have achieved outstanding success in their fields or who have made extraordinary contributions to ANU, Australia or the global community.

For the ANU College of Law, the awards are an important part of recognising and celebrating the achievements of our graduates and students, and providing a tangible example of the scope and opportunity enabled through an education at one of the world’s top 15 law schools.

The Dean of the ANU College of Law, Professor Stephen Bottomley, said the law school was extremely proud of its alumni and was always looking for opportunities to recognise and celebrate their successes.

“Our alumni engage in a wide array of legal work, building on this College’s concern for improving society, contributing to public policy and influencing global change.

“We now have over 17,000 ANU Law alumni and the ANU Alumni Awards are an important way for us to acknowledge the diverse, innovative and generous achievements of our graduates.

“I encourage people who know or work with ANU law students or alumni to submit a nomination to help ensure their achievements are recognised accordingly,” Professor Bottomley said.

Since the awards were first introduced in 2013, the ANU College of Law has had fourteen law alumni recognised across six different categories including Anne Gallagher AO as 2013 Alumnus of the Year, Tess Kelly as 2014 Student of the Year, Henry Makeham as 2015 Young Alumnus of the Year and David Richards as 2016 Alumnus of the Year - Philanthropy.

For the 2017 Awards, there are two new awards with a total of 10 award categories recognising a diverse group of alumni and students. 

The categories are: Alumnus of the Year, Alumnus of the Year - Philanthropy; Alumnus of the Year - Innovation & Entrepreneurship; Alumnus of the Year - Research or Academia; International Alumnus of the Year, Indigenous Alumnus of the Year; Young Alumnus of the Year;  Indigenous Young Alumnus of the Year; Postgraduate Student Philanthropist of the Year; and Undergraduate Student Philanthropist of the Year.

Nominations can be made by alumni, staff, students or members of the public and close on 31 October 2017.

Recipients will be announced at the 2017 Alumni Awards Gala Dinner on Friday 31 March 2017.

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team