The Cup & Spoon (aka Noticeboard)

More Awards!!

Rothwell, Bongiorno and Goss

Dear Colleagues,


We really are ending the year in a blaze of glory.  I am delighted to share with you news of further awards and success for both staff, students and an alumna.


Two colleagues were recognised at last night’s 2016 ANU Media and Outreach Awards:

  • Don Rothwell received the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Advancing the Reputation of the University through Media
  • Ryan Goss received the Award for Improving the Quality of Public Debate (jointly with two colleagues from CBE and CASS) 

Congratulations Don and Ryan for this deserved recognition of your very important outreach work.


In student news, a team of three ANU Law students (Kieran Pender, Camilla Pondel and Dan Trevanion) and a student from Sydney Law School (Stephen Ke) won first place in the Intercollegiate Negotiation Competition, held in Tokyo, receiving The Sumitomo Cup.  Please join me in congratulating the team on this outstanding result – and many thanks to Veronica Taylor for her work with, and support for, the team!


The Sumitomo Cup can be viewed in the Dean’s Office (before it is relocated to the College Trophy Cabinet, aka the pool room) in the Foyer, as can the AACL Selway Cup, awarded to the ANU winners of the Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot – James Barrett, Prashant Kelshiker and Will Randles.  James Stellios announced this success on 26 September.


Finally, as I mentioned at Wednesday Morning Tea this week, Sarah Dobbie, one of our recent graduates, and student speaker at the July Graduation Ceremony this year, has been awarded an Australia-at-Large Rhodes Scholarship to begin study at the University of Oxford in 2017. Fantastic recognition for Sarah, and a wonderful opportunity!


That’s it – for now….


Regards, Stephen
Dean, ANU College of Law

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team