The Cup & Spoon (aka Noticeboard)

Dean's Cup 2017 - call for suggestions

Stephen Bottomley Lowres

Dear Colleagues

Since its inception in 1998, the annual award of the Dean's Cup has been one of the enduring symbols of our collegial spirit. It is presented at the Denouement Dinner, along with the College Education Awards and the Professional Staff Awards.

In keeping with tradition, I seek your suggestions about who you think might be worthy candidates for consideration for this award for 2017, which will be my last opportunity to present the Cup.

The award of the Cup is decided by the Dean (me) in recognition of 'an outstanding contribution to citizenship, collegiality and community' within the College. As I emphasise each year, it can be a difficult task to choose a recipient (or recipients – there have been joint awards in the past) from such a collegial community, but I would appreciate your thoughts and suggestions, noting that past recipients are not excluded from re-nomination.

Your nominations should be sent to me ( and will be treated in the strictest confidence. There is no format for this. It does assist if, along with the name of the nominee, you can indicate briefly what prompts you to put them forward.

For your information, the previous recipients of the Cup are: Kumar Amirthalingam (1998), Stephen Bottomley (1999), Sue Hancock (2000), Phillipa Weeks (2001), Daniel Stewart (2002), Andrew Byrnes (2003), Mark Nolan (2004), Lauren Kish (2005), Asmi Wood (2006), Pauline Ridge (2007), Juliet Behrens (2008), Molly O'Brien (2009), Gary Tamsitt and Margie Rowe (2010), Fiona Wheeler (2011), Michael Brown and Cameron Roles (2012), Vera Joveska and Mark Nolan (2013), Peter Bailey (2014), Skye Saunders (2015), Therese Douglass and Miriam Gani (2016).

I look forward to receiving your suggestions.

Regards, Stephen
25 Oct 2017

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team