The Cup & Spoon (aka Noticeboard)

Congratulations to our distinguished educators - Asmi Wood

Asmi Wood

Dear colleagues

Yesterday we came together for the 71st anniversary of the foundation of ANU. I want to record my gratitude to every member of ANU who contributes to making this one of the finest academic institutions in the world. Our university's strength is its people, staff and students.

Some of the most important members of our community are our teaching staff, who deliver the programs of which ANU is so proud. I want great teaching at ANU to be as celebrated as much as great research, because both are fundamental to being a world-leading university. That is why I am so pleased to recognise the first six colleagues to be designated Distinguished Educators, for their eminence and sustained exceptional performance in relation to teaching and learning.

The six Distinguished Educators are:

  • Professor Paul Francis – College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
  • Professor Michael Platow – College of Medicine, Biology and Environment
  • Dr Carol Hayes – College of Asia and the Pacific
  • Dr Catherine Frieman – College of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Associate Professor Asmi Woods – ANU College of Law
  • Dr John Minns – College of Arts and Social Sciences

My congratulations to them, and thanks to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington, for her leadership of this initiative and for her commitment to making ANU a home of great teaching.

Further information on the Distinguished Educators is available from

Next week, I will also be announcing a major strategic initiative in the College of Engineering and Computer Science, which we expect to be a game-changer for ANU.

Until then, Happy Birthday ANU.


Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  College General Manager, ANU College of Law/Page Contact:  Law Marketing Team